Indecision, or “My Brain Feels Like A Hive of Bees”

So I haven’t done ANY sewing since I finished my Fall for Cotton project. I haven’t even cleaned up my sewing area any further–the ghoulish heap of muslin that is Simplicity 3073 is still wadded up on my cutting mat, which is covering half of my dining room table. I have an idea for how to tweak the placket on that dress, but haven’t bothered to try it yet. 

The thing I struggle with most as a sewist, apart from being lazy, is the absolutely constant buzzing of ideas in my head. Just when I think I’ve settled on a queue order, I find a new pattern or fabric that piques my interest, and off I go in a new direction. I like having ideas and being inspired, but I wish I could focus! I have this muslin sitting on my table, but now I’m torn between wanting to make more vintage blouses–I have some amazing patterns and fabric in my stash for that–and wanting to make a pair of super-skinny 1960’s ankle-length pants (for which I have ordered some stretch denim) from the patterns I got from my cousin. And yet, even with all these ideas and resources to make them come to life, I struggle to muster the energy to sit down and work on things after getting up at 5AM, working until almost 5PM, sometimes working until 7 or 8 at the vintage store (which I love doing, but boy am I tired these days!), and taking care of my pets and the house. Thus, I am in awe of all of you that manage to be so productive and make such beautiful things! Maybe one of these days I’ll start to catch up! 🙂

One thought on “Indecision, or “My Brain Feels Like A Hive of Bees”

  1. My mind is always full of ideas and projects, I think that is why I am a hoarder of fabric and patterns. My life is full and frenzied at all times. My only sanity comes from creating and creating adds to my insanity. It is a vicious circle and I am not sure if I ready to get off yet. I am already looking for the next challenge or sew along. It keeps me sewing.

Leave a Reply

