Edition 21, In Which The Blogger Plans A Surprise

Wow, it’s been a LONG time since I posted! I guess that having a show every week for 5 weeks and working 2 jobs has cut into my blogging and sewing…

I haven’t started anything new, nor have I finished any projects I had started. That makes 2 UFOs and one muslin that needs some troubleshooting before moving forward. I am thinking of re-purposing the fabric I used for vintage Simplicity 7131. I am just not happy with how it turned out, and I cannot see myself wearing it. =( BUT, I have plenty of material from the skirt portion to make a nice 3/4 sleeve blouse, I think, so it’s not a total loss. I also learned a lot from that experience, which will be helpful going forward.

(So between starting that last paragraph and finishing it just now, our tornado sirens went off. While waiting for the local news channel to address our county and the sirens, we put both cats in their carriers and started putting on rain-proof boots to head to the basement. But apparently our county’s siren system works by setting off the entire siren network if a warning is issued anywhere in the county, so upon hearing that the warning wasn’t for our city, we let the kitties out of their carriers and went back to business as usual. It was scary, but we know we can get everyone gathered up and down to safety in just a couple of minutes.)

To the point of the title of this post, I’ve decided to attempt to make my husband something for Xmas this year. Thread Theory has really gorgeous patterns for men, and the Newcastle cardigan is the one I plan to make for him first. I don’t know about any of you, but my husband is all about those knit cardigans with shawl collars right now. I’m hoping to find two different knits that I like so I can do a contrast yoke. I’m sort of terrified of this idea, since I’ve never sewn with knits before and do not have a serger. But I’ve got the appropriate type of needles (along with a twin needle for my machine) and my Janome can do an overlock stitch and plenty of zig-zag stitches, so hopefully I can make this work and give him something he will be proud to wear!

For myself, I’ll probably focus on blouses next. Then the 60’s pants. I’ve also been doing a little bit of mending for the vintage shop, which is really rewarding. It’s awesome to fix something and make it ready to be put out on the rack for someone to love!

5 thoughts on “Edition 21, In Which The Blogger Plans A Surprise

  1. I got the Newcastle cardigan pattern for my husband too! I got some fleece to make a (hopefully wearable) muslin. I also want to make a version for myself. 😉

    Tornadoes are scary – glad it was a false alarm for your area. But it’s nice to get a warning. You don’t get earthquake warnings.

    • I hope you’ll share details and photos of the Newcastle if it turns out–I love seeing what others have done with the pattern, and you make such cool stuff! I’ve started but haven’t gotten far yet. And you’re right: I’d rather deal with a tornado warning than an earthquake. Your point about the warnings really puts it in perspective. =/

  2. Pingback: Newcastle Cardigan – First Steps | Life in A "Mads" House

Leave a Reply

