New Stuff at The “Mads” House

It’s my first post of 2014–yay! I hope everyone has had a good start to 2014, and that you haven’t accidentally written 2013 on any important documents. 😉

Things have been busy here, of course. I haven’t done any sewing yet this year, which is depressing. BUT: I have acquired several awesome sewing-related pretties that I can’t wait to put to use once I start up for the year. I’ve put photos of a few of them below, naturally. 🙂

Image

New patterns and buckles

Image

Close-up of the buckles!

The 1940’s dress pattern at the top right was a gift from Tom for xmas, but all the others I bought for myself. I’m especially excited about the cape pattern, because I have been obsessed with them lately. The 1930’s dress/cape pattern (as seen in the buckle close-up) is another of my favorites. I’m very intrigued by the measurements on this particular pattern; unlike most sewing patterns, there is not a vast difference in the bust and waist measurements in any of the sizes. For instance, this pattern lists a 28″ bust as having a corresponding 26″ waist–that’s very different to what I’ve seen on other vintage patterns, even from this era. Because of that, I’ll have to do some serious grading at the waist, I suspect (and no, 28″ is not my bust size–my ribs are a bit bigger than that, haha!). The Depew bra pattern is also really exciting, because I’ve never tried to make underthings before and Anna at A Few Threads Loose always has such beautiful patterns available at her Etsy store. I’ve got all the materials to make the bra, and I’m hoping to start it tonight after work. Hopefully it helps to kickstart my 2014 sewing mojo!

2 thoughts on “New Stuff at The “Mads” House

  1. Those buckles are especially lovely! What marvelous finds! The mint green one is a particular favourite. I hope you have a blast creating projects with all of them.

    ♥ Jessica

    *PS* Thank you very much for your wonderfully nice birthday wishes for Annie.

    • Aww, thank you for your comment! I see that we have similar tastes in buckles, because that mint green one is my favorite, too! It even has the stabby part, which I thought was neat. PS: sorry if more than one comment posted for Ms. Annie; the first didn’t show up so I submitted another one. Feel free to delete the extra one if both posted! 😄

Leave a Reply

