Inside The “Mads” Pattern Stash

Hello again! Two posts in as many days–wha??? 🙂 I swear my body and mind have not been taken over by pod people! (Although that’s exactly what a pod person would say…)

I thought it would be fun to show you all a few of the things that I’ve added to my collection lately, pattern-wise. I did buy some fabric as well, but haven’t photographed it. (I unwrapped it, “ooh’d” and “aaah’d” over it, and promptly re-wrapped it and put it in my stash bin before Tom could come in and see what I was doing!) For fun, I thought I’d include photos of (almost) the entire pattern stash as well. I have to say, it’s tremendous!

Image

Most of my newest patterns–yay!

Image

One filing box, nearly full!

Image

The other filing box–filled past capacity!!

Aren’t the newest ones just amazing?!? I want to make all of them right now, at once. And I’ve still got plans for that playsuit and a blouse and a bra, so who knows what I’ll end up working on first! I’m going on a fast for a while, since I’ve got wayyyy more patterns than I can possibly use in a reasonable amount of time.

I am so glad that we have a Container Store in Central Ohio–the filing boxes in my photos are the perfect size for sewing pattern storage! Plus they come in all kinds of colors, which is a nice way to add some cheer to my sewing room year-round. (Nevermind that my dining room/sewing room is eggplant purple with metallic copper accents–I had to have the green boxes!) I had started with one filing method–mailing envelopes with a photocopy of the envelope taped to them–but have switched it up to something more reasonable and less time-consuming: comic book bags! The bags I have are “current issue” size, which is way too big for my patterns, but better that than too small, right? And these photos don’t even show the ones that are sitting in a grocery bag, which appear to mostly be assorted pieces of many different vintage patterns; I need to take the time to dig through those and unfold them and pair things up, but haven’t found the motivation yet! 🙂

Have you gotten any new-to-you patterns (or some other item that you love to acquire) lately? Which one(s) are you most excited about?

11 thoughts on “Inside The “Mads” Pattern Stash

  1. I see that you have been bitten by the vintage pattern bug as well. Oh, I love vintage patterns, and yours are terrific. The way you have them organized is wonderful, mine are stuffed in cardboard boxes, hidden in the closet, my dirty little secret.

  2. Oh my gosh–when I move to Columbus I have to see your patterns. I am loving that McCall coat from the ’30s, and the others…well, they’re all great. I look forward to seeing more of your stashes!

  3. The organization lover in me flat out adores how well arranged and thoroughly protected your beautiful pattern collection is. Little know fact, even though I’m really not a sewer myself, I have a collection of patterns which have some how “magically” made their way into my house over the years. They’re just too marvelous and historically important to pass up when I’ve come across them for a song at yard sales, thrift stores, flea markets and the like. Sometimes I’ll give one to a sewing friend for a gift, but even then I probably still have at least 15-20 of them that I can’t bring myself to part with at any given moment.

    Big hugs & tons of happy weekend wishes,
    ♥ Jessica

    *PS* Thank you very much for your comment on my What Katie Did review post. It’s a sincere shame that they don’t make bras in A cups, too. That is a glaring oversight at best and rather insulting (to smaller chested ladies, I mean) move at worst on their part.

  4. My degree is in history, so preserving these things is part of what drew me to them in the first place! I am glad that love of these paper goods goes beyond folks who sew, and I’m sure they are well-loved and appreciated at your home. =)

    Re: bras, I can sort of understand why they don’t do my cup size, since there wouldn’t be much, um, “tissue” to squeeze into a pointy cup if all you’re working with is an “A,” but it is a bummer for those of us who have interest in that vintage look but don’t have the pin-up proportions. Maybe someday! Thanks for your lovely comment!

  5. Oh my! You have a lot of vintage patterns! The decade I like (1950’s), I feel like they’re very similar to some patterns out now. I only have 1 vintage pattern. It’s nothing compared to your collection!

    OMG! You’re going to make a bra?!?!? That is on my dream to sew list. I don’t know why I’m deathly afraid because it’s tiny and it can get pretty expensive, as with anything.

    • Honestly, I’m not scared of the bra, but maybe I should be! The one I’m making is a vintage pattern (big surprise, right? 🙂 ) with no wires. There are only a few pieces, so hopefully it doesn’t get the better of me!

  6. I’m amazed at how organised your patterns are! When I only had three or four, I kept my patterns in a magazine box, alongside my magazines – except, then I went to a charity shop and picked up half a dozen more, and then I agreed to make a dress for a friend, and a prom dress, and wanted to make trousers, and bought a magazine – so now I can’t even fit just the patterns into the file! My patterns are ‘neatly’ tacked on top of my record player, and every now and again (when I really should be studying) I flick through them and reorganise them! My favourite pattern is a 1970’s one I picked up for about 70p!!
    I love that middle vouge pattern – I love pencil skirts and loose blouses 🙂

Leave a Reply

