Wherein The Blogger Attempts* Pants

*Disclosure: it is still to be determined whether or not any pants will actually be completed, since the ‘Mads’ house motto seems to be, “Ain’t Nobody Got Time For That.”

Another weekend draws to a close. They are simply too short, and I must find out where complaints about that may be registered. 🙂

I have been trying to get back into sewing for the new year, and I’m pleased to say that a few things are in the works. I did manage to finish one project, but it isn’t very exciting: I re-covered my ironing board!

New cover, featuring my new sleeve board!

New cover, featuring my new sleeve board!

This undertaking was, I’m afraid, quite necessary: my old cover was GROSS and I could feel the metal diamond grid of the board itself through the thin padding, so I decided to do a little extra padding while I was at it. I need to pull the cover a little tighter, but apart from that it’s working very nicely. Threading the string through the casing was the worst part of the entire operation and took far too long! I took the opportunity to use the overlock stitch on my machine to finish the raw edge before I hemmed the cover to create the casing, and it worked very nicely. (I cleared out 2 partial bobbins with random colors of thread on them, too, which is awesome.) I also added a sleeve board to my pressing arsenal! I’m excited about that, because I know I need one to help me elevate my finished garments to a new level of quality and crispness. It’s also timely, since the next project in my queue is underway…

It's THE pants!

It’s THE pants! (This is the part where cherubs sing and play trumpets and there’s a laser light show of some sort, etc.)

Ironed pattern pieces and fashion fabric

Ironed pattern pieces and fashion fabric

I’ve been excited about this pattern ever since it fell into my lap a year ago, and I can’t wait to put it together! My butt and these pants need each other like peanut butter needs jelly. (Wait…I’m deathly allergic to peanut butter. This may be a bad omen for the project!) I’ve earmarked my Marc Jacobs (hey, I bought it, I’m going to name-drop it) bottomweight cotton for this pattern, despite the fact that the envelope says the pattern isn’t suitable for plaids. The scale is so small that matching isn’t of the utmost importance anyway, not to mention that I’m not about to take orders from a 50-year-old piece of paper!

I’ve marked on the envelope (!!!!!) to note my measurements vs those of the pattern in certain places. I’ll trace it off before making any alterations; I’m happy to cut out uncut vintage patterns (excepting my mint-in-envelope 1920’s McCall patterns) but hacking into the pieces to make alterations that may have to be re-done countless times isn’t something I’m willing to do!

As if this weren’t exciting enough, I’ve got these two things in mind as well:

Baby's first Style Arc pattern!

Baby’s first Style Arc pattern!

And a Marfy! *insert dramatic "dun-dun-dun" music here*

And a Marfy! *insert dramatic “dun-dun-dun” music here*

I’m hoping that once I complete* the skinny pants, I’ll be confident enough in no-fly pants construction techniques to tackle the Style Arc “Antoinette” pants. Something about this pattern just grabbed me and I had to have it! I plan to make them out of wool crepe–which I’ve bought in 3 colors because go hard or go home, right?–and will be attempting to add a lining to them as a result. My desire for the Marfy was triggered by seeing Poppykettle’s recent version of this blouse pattern, which is/was divine. It’s practically my perfect blouse–sleeves designed to be rolled up, attractive collar, feminine details, and suitable for a sheer or luxurious fabric. Yeah yeah, I know: no instructions or seam/hem allowances. But I’m excited and think I can probably figure it out in the muslin stages. Hooray for adventure!

Hopefully I’ll have pants progress to share soon. I haven’t cut into my muslin or traced off the pattern yet, and Saoirse has ensured that all the ironing and laying out I did yesterday are sufficiently thwarted–she’s sitting on the pieces as I type this, wrinkling and furring them all up. Life with cats, right?

What are you working on, if you sew? Trying any new or particularly adventurous projects to kick-start your new year? Do tell!

*No guarantees, people–it’s me we’re talking about here! Seeing as how this is the dreamboat pants pattern of my dreams, I’m sure it will be completed at some point. Let’s just hope this project doesn’t end up being a carried-over UFO into 2016. 😉

9 thoughts on “Wherein The Blogger Attempts* Pants

  1. Haha! I love your posts such a whirlwind! Exciting times trousers, love both patterns and the fabrics you’ve chosen sound amazing! I’m surr you’ll do a great job! Now to the ironing board, that cover is ace, i hate it too feeling the metalic part when ironing, it feels like sleeping on a hard bed!

    • Haha, thank you! I’m hoping to end up with wearable pants at the end, but we’ll see! And yes, the bed analogy is so good–I hated feeling the diamond pattern through the board and was always worried it would transfer to my fabric.

    • See, now I’m kicking myself–I’d have never thought to use rolled towels but that’s a great idea!! And of course Wawak put sleeve boards at 20% off mere days after I ordered!

      I just love that pants pattern–it’s my ideal pair of vintage pants and I can never find the real thing. (It’s all wide-leg 70’s pants, which are nice, but I’m a skinny pants kind of gal.) Swingin’ 60’s, here I come! =)

  2. Go Mads!! Great job on the board.. looks so sleek.. 🙂 Trousers… exciting….. 🙂 I am thinking about some as well… ooh the nerves… In the meantime I can’t wait to see yours.. 🙂

  3. Ooh those style arc pants look fabulous, they’re the sort of thing I picture myself wearing all fabulously in my head before I realise that I’m not actually that fashionista-ry and put on a tee shirt and shorts instead haha.

  4. Pingback: FO Trio Post! | Life in A "Mads" House

Leave a Reply

