A Tale of Two Tops

Hi! Wherever in the world you are, I hope your weather has at least been consistent: ours has been somewhat confused about what season it is! One week it was in the teens (F) and then suddenly we had a few days of 40-50 with rain. One day, it was 60F!! And now it’s back to 40s and 50s forecast for this week. Come on, Ohio, pick a lane!!

So here I am, with not one but 2 new tops to share! One was called out in the planning post a while ago, and the other got an honorable mention by way of me whining about Named’s Fall line and how I wanted to sew ALL OF IT* right now. On these grounds, I am calling this a technical victory on both garments as far as sticking to my plan goes. 😉

*Except for literally only one pattern from that collection, which was the only one I did not buy. Yikes.

We did our photos indoors this time, in our attic studio. Which is orange. (2 shades of orange, to be precise.) So we had to hang up a blanket to make it work for these tops! I had the first top on during our test photos so that’s mostly what we got–not as many detail shots on that one. But it’s definitely the less interesting of the two, so…

First up, a Lark tee! I opted for the 3/4 sleeves with the boatneck for this first one.

shirts-1

Purple-iscious Lark tee!

shirts-2

My face when we’re testing the lights

shirts-5

Supposed to show the flawless twin needle hem–oh well.

shirts-3

Testing lights again…

shirts-4

Literally the only shot we got of the back of this top, and I’m pretending to twerk in it. Awesome. O_O

I am so sorry about that last pic, you guys–my ass has this super power where it can make itself look bodacious on camera sometimes, much to my constant consternation. Okay, I guess I’m not that sorry because I still posted it, and it is pretty funny. I promise you that Le Azz is rather underwhelming IRL and is about what you’d expect from someone who wears size 00 jeans (i.e., sad). 😦 ANYWAY…

My Lark tee is a riff on the whole “luxurious basics” thing: simple garment, swish fabric. That fabric is a gorgeous Telio bamboo/lycra jersey from Fabric.com. (YES, they have Telio fabrics now you guys.) This particular fabric is great: soft to the touch, plenty stretchy, but with a nice weight. I love the color, too. This fabric shrank like the devil in the washer/dryer cycle; not a shock, since bamboo is a cellulose fiber and that’s a risk you take, but I still managed to be surprised when I went to lay the fabric out to cut! 😉

Unlike every other time I’ve made a Grainline pattern, I did not add any length to Lark. None. It’s clearly drafted to be longer, and I like that about it. There are plenty of neckline and sleeve options on Lark, which is nice. That being said, it’s definitely not a fitted top: this is a size 0 (my usual Grainline size) with a little bit extra removed from the waistline. I like a good relaxed-fit tee now and then, and I know that Grainline’s aesthetic doesn’t really jive with “body-con” anything, but I think I will bring future Larks in a bit more all over to give me some definition. I would feel frumpy in tops that were this loose all the time, if I’m honest. I think it’s something about the fitted sleeves in combination with the loose-but-not-oversized body…I just can’t deal!

With respect to this top specifically, I now remember why I don’t wear boatnecks: bra straps. O_O

Sewing-wise, this was dead simple. I serged everything but the hems and sewed my hems with….DRUM ROLL…a stretch twin needle! Weeeeeeeeeeeeee!  I opted for the narrower one of the two that I have because it matched my RTW tees. I tested it on a scrap first and, apart from making sure to use knit interfacing for all my hems (including the neckline), I just went for it. I am pleased to report that the interfacing prevented the dreaded tunneling effect (which was present on my un-interfaced test scrap)!

So that’s this Lark tee. There will be more, that’s for sure!

And now for the star of this post, the Named Talvikki Sweater!!!!!!

shirts-6

Big orange sweater

shirts-10

This face reflects how I feel about this top

shirts-15

Infinity Arms!!!!!!! It’s amazing what a funny photo angle can do…

shirts-11

Neckline. It does stand up by itself, I just didn’t adjust it before we started taking pics. =(

shirts-13

Wiggling.

shirts-8

My flaps are fly as fuck.

shirts-17

“Ughhh I can’t with this bitch…”

Re: that last photo, I HAD TO. HAD TO. I got the idea immediately when I decided I was going to post these tops together. I died laughing when Tom got the Photoshopping done. HILARIOUS. (And free of twerking…)

So anyway, Talvikki! AKA, the Big Orange Sweater. I fucking love this thing. The collar! The darts! The hem! The fabric! Gahhhhhhh. I apologize for the odd-looking dents and stuff around the front shoulder/neck area; it’s because my collarbones and shoulders are very prominent (read: boney as fuck) and the fabric is kind of catching and pooling on them weirdly.

Speaking of fabric, this is a scuba/neoprene knit from Gorgeous Fabrics. I bought it a while ago but immediately thought of it again when this pattern was released–it seemed like the perfect match, and I think that instinct was right on! It’s hefty enough to support the collar (I opted not to interface my neck facing but YMMV), and has just enough stretch to satisfy the pattern’s very specific requirements (30% minimum). And since I bought 3 yards, I still have enough left to make a skirt! #winning  😀 And can I just say that my favorite thing about scuba is the way it totally dissolves when you pull on tiny pieces of it?!? I find it bubble wrap-levels of mesmerizing:

img_20170116_204041

Seriously, how the f*ck does it do that?!?!?

Construction-wise, there wasn’t much to this top once I got past those neck darts. Those were by far the fiddliest part! I did most of the remaining work at my serger, but used my machine to attach the neck facing. Since none of the hems have to stretch, I just single-needled them. I will note, for the record, that I used a stretch needle in a size 90/14 and had no issues whatsoever. When in doubt, always test on a scrap first!!

I did add 1″ of length to this top, which is now a standard adjustment for me on any Named tops and bodices; I added it at the bust line. Normally I would change the shoulder slope on a Named top as well, but this one has a dropped shoulder and funnel neck so I opted just to leave them be. I’ve seen other folks debating whether they want to slim the sleeves down, which I totally understand. As for me, I agree that they’re a lot of sleeve, but I don’t mind them as-is.

So there you have it: two new tops! They’re certainly very different from each other, but I am glad to have both of them added to my wardrobe.

That’ll do it for me today–thanks for checking in! I’ll be back before too long, because I just organized my fabric stash this weekend and can’t wait to show you guys!!

Have you sewed anything new recently? Do you find it easy to pair fabrics with patterns? Do you ever look at a potential blog photo and wonder “How did that happen?!?” or, “OMG do I really look like that?!?” 😀

(PS: Let me know what you think of the new theme on the site! I didn’t like how narrow my old one made all the text so I decided to tweak it. If you find the site hard to read or navigate, please let me know!)

24 thoughts on “A Tale of Two Tops

  1. LOVE the color of the purple one, but the collar on the orange one! Funny that needs 30% stretch; so you can get ye olde stand up collar over the noggin without a closure?

    And…LMAO at you roaring at you…

  2. The light in your attic studio, whatever source it’s coming from, is gorgeous. That first shot in the purple shirt is especially beautiful of you. I mean, great shirts, but that light! Like a portrait!

  3. Quick comment time (I got a shit ton of marking to do): LOVE the new site. Diggin the new lark tee, although I can understand about wanting to size down. I now size down their stuff by like multiple sizes to get close to the look I want. I really like the sweater but I fo’ sho’ could not pull that off. Anywho…back to marking…hooray. 😐

    • UGH marking–all my sisters are teachers or professors so I “get” that. My favorite thing about the Lark description is that it’s supposed to be good for layering; it probably is, as long as everything you wear over it is equal measures of baggy in relation to your body measurements!!! Gah. I know that’s their thing but it still makes me sigh with resignation, lol.

  4. Love the Named one. I know I will end up buying this pattern at some stage, I just love it. I want to make it up in grey boiled wool or fleece knit or similar. Great job. And that purple is a great colour on you. Love.

    • YES please make it in a boiled wool or fleece and share–I think that would be amazing! I am still cranky that they found a STRETCH boiled wool for their sample, because I have no idea where to find anything similar. 😉

      Thanks so much for your kind comments, esp. about the lighting–Tom is so pleased that people noticed! And it’s good to have you back, btw. I hope you are refreshed and ready for the new year! 🙂

  5. I’ve been watching so much Orphan Black that two-mads pic didn’t phase me at all.

    Great tops! The Named one looks great!

    Does the lark tee have a slight curve up at the hem line (it looks that way in the shot near your hip level)? Interesting detail, if yes.

    Also: fusing and twin needle eh? If that’s normal I’ve been doing. it. wrong. this whole time.

    • Hah!! That’s amazing…I’ll have to do something creepier next time. 😉

      And no, the Lark doesn’t curve at the hem, I must have gotten it caught up on my bulky boyjeans and not noticed–sorry! 😦 And I had never used a twin needle before this tee, so I did what I’d seen other people have success with re: the tunneling. It really did work! Definitely give it a try if you aren’t happy with the results you’ve gotten from other things; I know not everyone cares for the same finishes but it was fun to play with a new toy, at least!

    • Thank you, Linda! The purple is indeed a very saturated color–it’s wonderful! And yes, apart from the serious ventilation from the splits at the sides, that orange top (poly/nylon/lycra) is nice and toasty. 🙂

      And for real, I don’t know what I would do without my willing accomplice of a husband–I’m so spoiled!!

Leave a Reply

