New Year, New Tops!

Hi there! I want to start by saying “Thanks!” to all of you who read and commented on my 2017 Top 5 posts: I enjoy sharing a year-end recap, but it’s so heartening that people read them and take the time to leave a comment. And while I’m at it, a massive “THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!” to anyone who read or commented on this blog over the course of the past year! My sewing friends–online, on social media, and in real life–add so much joy and inspiration to my life, and I hope I am able to do even a fraction of the same in return. โค

And now, on with the show!

It seems that, for the second year running, I will be starting a new year of project posts with multiple knit tops! But unlike last year, all three tops in today’s post have something in common: stripes!! First up: the Molly top by Sew Over It!

abbey assortment (6 of 56).jpg

“Are you taking the photo now?”

abbey assortment (4 of 56).jpg

Back!

abbey assortment (5 of 56).jpg

Side, with poor stripe matching on full display.

abbey assortment (2 of 56).jpg

Tilt

abbey assortment (1 of 56).jpg

Sass

Sorry about these relatively boring (but still very high-quality, IMO) photos, guys–I vastly prefer outdoor shots, but the weather was far too cold and snowy for me to risk it this time. Tom was also messing with his lighting and flash options, which resulted in some unusually crisp shadows. (We don’t Photoshop around here unless we’re doing something really obvious–this ain’t a magazine shoot.)

This top is actually my final garment for 2017–I cut it (and the other 2 below) out on 12/30, and somehow sewed it up completely before noon on 12/31!! Not at all what I planned or expected, but that’s what happens when you’re up at 5:30AM*, even on days off: you get shit done! ๐Ÿ˜‰

*And you also have a serger

As basic as it is, this pattern was one that I was excited about, for a few reasons. First, because I’d never used a SOI pattern before–I was eager to see what they were like, how they fit, and how I felt about the resulting garment. Second, because I bought this fabric and wanted a different pattern to showcase the stripes. (Is it just me, or are stripes of this scale oddly difficult to match to a pattern choice?) I love my Lark tees–and totally intend to make one with what’s left of this material–but I wanted something that looked a bit more unique in stripes. Finally, I figured if I liked the top version of Molly, I would be able to crack on with a dress version eventually!

So first impressions: the pattern printed a little oddly for me, but not in any way that negatively impacted the scaling or fit. I think it’s more to do with UK vs. US paper formats, because even scaled at 100%, I ended up with a weird section of overlap on the edges of each page. But it was simple enough to just cut that section off, once I realized that it wasn’tย supposed to be there! My other first impression was that the pieces looked really wide compared to the not-at-all-oversized finished versions I’d seen people make. But I quickly realized that I didn’t know what the seam allowance was, and sure enough, a trip to Google revealed that it’s 5/8″. Mystery solved!ย And while we’re discussing first impressions, I should note that I got this pattern for free; I can’t remember where I got it, but it was from a link multiple months ago that I saw online someplace–again, I can’t remember as it’s been a while! Rest assured that 1.) this is not an affiliation thing and 2.) I came by the freebie legitimately, as far as I know.ย 

I had a heck of a time with this material! (It’s a rayon/lycra jersey, which I’ve used before with not nearly this much fuss!) No matter what I did, the yardage was distorting each time I tried to place and weight my pattern pieces. On top of that, fusing interfacing to my hems was awful! I actually had to stand there, pressing my iron down firmly and holding it there for 20-30 seconds or the fusible would not melt into the fabric. I have used the same knit interfacing many times before (from the same cut) and have never had this happen; as such, I am prepared to blame my fabric for this difficulty rather than my interfacing.

Since I struggled to get the fabric to lay still and stay on-grain easily, I didn’t do a great job matching stripes in the end. My sleeves look pretty good though, and I LOVE how the neckband came out! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m not too bothered by the poor matching at the shoulders and side seams, though perhaps I’d have done better if I took a break from the project instead of forging ahead with the cutting. #YOLO

The only alteration I made to this pattern was to add a little bit of extra hem allowance. I think it’s meant to be longer, but I am glad I left it as-is: tunic-esque tops feel awkward on me. My only real complaint about the pattern itself, apart from those seam allowances (have you ever tried to serge rayon/lycra jersey with 5/8″ allowances?!?!?!? It’s soooo annoying!), is the length of the lower sleeves–they come up a bit short on me, and I’m not in possession of particularly long limbs. But going by the sample garment photos at SOI’s website, it actually looks like this is the length they intend for them to be, but having a free pattern-only (no instructions or line art) version, I can’t be sure. But that aside, I love my Molly top! I might make the dress version, although I’m not sure how much I’d love it in a solid fabric–it would be pretty plain. I would really like to buy the Heather dress pattern next, as I love the front panel with integrated pockets; I also think that pattern shines in solids, whereas Molly probably looks better in stripes since the dolman sleeves are the only real design lines. That’s my $0.02, anyway!

Next up is a pattern I have made once before, but not for a few years: the Tamara top from Style Arc!

abbey assortment (8 of 56).jpg

Always Be Primping

abbey assortment (15 of 56).jpg

Front view

abbey assortment (12 of 56).jpg

Back view

abbey assortment (11 of 56).jpg

Side!

This one is quite a bit more tasteful than my first version, LOL! I had enough of my striped bamboo jersey left to doย something with it, but not quite an entire garment. (THE WORST!!) Luckily I remembered this pattern! I have a few yards of a (slightly darker) plain navy bamboo jersey, so I decided to use that for the angled pieces. Speaking of which, the passage of time really made me forget how annoying those shoulder insets were to sew, haha! They definitely aren’t identical but I’m hoping non-sewers won’t even notice.

Style Arc assumes you’ll use the same material for the front bodice piece and the neckband, but I wanted plain navy for the neckband instead. (There were plenty of stripes already!) And I forgot about the sleeve construction, so my genius intentions to put the sleeves in flat didn’t work out–they had to go in round. Luckily SA understands that you don’t need 2″ of ease in a close-fitting knit sleeve cap–more like 0″–so they went in with no trouble at all, just like last time.

Finally, I made a Hemlock tee!

abbey assortment (23 of 56).jpg

Seems legit (Also, damn my bangs are getting long!!)

abbey assortment (21 of 56).jpg

So much fabric!

abbey assortment (20 of 56).jpg

Side (stripes match decently this time!!)

abbey assortment (17 of 56).jpg

Yikes.

abbey assortment (19 of 56).jpg

“Chop chop buddy, I don’t have all night!!”

abbey assortment (16 of 56).jpg

Always Be Primping, Round 2

This is a freebie pattern from Grainline; I’ve had it for a while but hadn’t made it yet! I used the same fabric for this tee that I used for a different Grainline pattern, the Lark, late last year. I added maybe 1/2″ of length to the body pieces here, but that’s it. The pattern has 1/4″ seam allowances, so it’s perfect for zipping through a serger. It’s a really comfortable and relaxed tee; I actually think it would make a nice pajama top. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Otherwise, there isn’t much to say!

Here are some outtakes for all y’all, as is customary:

abbey assortment (25 of 56).jpg

Angry stretchy shirt

abbey assortment (26 of 56).jpg

Abb’s Abs

abbey assortment (7 of 56).jpg

Dancing?

abbey assortment (14 of 56)

Senior Portrait Pose

abbey assortment (22 of 56)

Giggles

There you have it: 3 new tops, all in stripes! (Have I mentioned that I love stripes? Because I do.) I have 2 other projects to share with you also, and that post is coming very shortly. (And one of them is also striped…) I’ve been busy and have plenty of plans for more Winter sewing as well; I’m thinking of putting together a planning post to share my ideas with you all, but who knows if I will do that or not. (Perhaps my focus should be on just sewing stuff, rather than navel-gazing about sewing stuff. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

Have you gotten off to a running start with your sewing projects in 2018? How do you feel about stripes? Do you find that sharing your ideas or plans helps you solidify them?ย 

 

14 thoughts on “New Year, New Tops!

  1. Wow, all three look so great!! It’s hard to pick a favorite but I love how sleek the Style Arc looks. Also, just by the way — suddenly I had the thought that you kind of look like Cristin Milioti, do people ever tell you that? Did you see her Star Trekky episode of Black Mirror? (I mean it as a compliment, of course!)

    • Thank you, Ann! The SA top is definitely the most polished-looking one of the three, and I can’t help but feel stylish in that one. ๐Ÿ˜€

      And oh my gosh, I will totally take that compliment, LOL! (Although I have a feeling she might find it insulting to be compared to the likes of me, LOL.) I LOVED her episode of Black Mirror, it was probably my favorite of Season 4.

      • That episode was my favorite too! I also liked the dating app one. I’ve actually only watched 4 out of the 6 episodes so far. It feels very wimpy to say but I seem to be in the mood for the ones that have “happy” endings…I haven’t had the fortitude lately for the bleaker ones!

  2. I remember seeing these patterns before somewhere. I havenโ€™t bought them yet, although I think I have the free one. Thanks for showing them to us. I have planned out what I want to do this year – someone asked me so I organized myself and answered. So far I have only finished a couple of bags. Thereโ€™s a lot of sewing to be done yet! ๐Ÿ˜‚

  3. The Style Arc is my favorite but the other two have likable factors as well… The Lark Tee looks SO comfy! And I actually really like the stripe play on the first one. I like how since there is no shoulder seam the stripes run from the shirt partway down the arm- I think it is visually pleasing! (I like stripes!)

    I am not off to a running start with my 2018 projects. I have a McCalls jacket half made on my mannequin and a half made robe for my brother. Granted I needed to order knit interfacing for the robe- the jacket isn’t looking so great but I need to give it a chance and finish it!

    • Yeah, the Molly and Hemlock ones are definitely more “comfortable” tops, whereas the SA one is my style cred. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I do love a good striped dolman top though, hence the appeal of the Molly!

      Don’t you just hate having to pause a project to wait for supplies?!? Good luck with the robe and jacket–here’s hoping the jacket isn’t as bad as it seems in its half-finished state!

  4. Pingback: “Dress”ing for Winter | Life in A "Mads" House

  5. Pingback: 2018 Top 5 – Hits, Misses, and Highlights | Life in A "Mads" House

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.